Voyageurs hand out annual awards Thursday night

Voyageurs hand out annual awards Thursday night

The Laurentian Voyageurs handed out their annual awards on Thursday night. 

The event was highlighted by recognizing a handful of Voyageurs who did something no one else has in the history of Laurentian athletics. Kadre Gray and the women's curling team, consisting of Laura Masters (Sault Ste. Marie, ON), Sara Guy (Wahnapitae, ON), Megan Smith (Sudbury, ON) and Krysta Burns (Sudbury, ON) were named Male and Female Athletes of the Year. Gray and Guy were also recognized as Male and Female Rookies of the Year. Kraymr Grenke was presented with the Special Voyageur Award while Graham Yeo and Emily Jago earned the Investors Community Service Awards.  Jago was also presented with the prestigious Voyageur Award.

After leading the country in scoring and being named the OUA and U SPORTS men's basketball Rookie of the Year, Gray, a Toronto native, was the first ever Voyageurs men's basketball player to be named the national Rookie of the Year and just the third Voyageurs basketball player to receive an individual award at the national level. 

As recognition for winning their first ever OUA and U SPORTS banner, Laurentian's first national banner since 1990-91, the women's curling team were named the Laurentian Female Athletes of the Year. 

After being named a first-team OUA all-star and helping her team to both the OUA and U SPORTS women's curling title, Sara Guy took home Female Rookie of the Year honors. 

The Special Voyageur Award is presented to someone outside of the immediate Voyageurs family who has made an outstanding contribution to Laurentian Voyageur Athletics.  This year former golfer and outgoing SGA President, Kraymr Grenke was presented with the award for his unprecedented support and advocacy of Laurentian Voyageur athletics. 

The Investors Group Community Service Award recognizes those Voyageurs who wear the Blue and Gold with pride throughout the Greater Sudbury community and beyond.  Receiving this year's awards were Graham Yeo (Bracebridge, ON) and Emily Jago (Sudbury, ON).

A member of the men's hockey team, Yeo currently volunteers with local minor hockey associations, assisting young players in skill development. This year Graham was a team leader at the Relay for Life and a leader with the university's 'Cool Kids Lead' program, while also volunteering his time with a school reading program. 

A member of the women's rowing team, Emily Jago (Sudbury, ON) is an active volunteer with the Sudbury Rowing Club, working with para athletes and masters athletes. This year Emily was a mentor athlete for the 'Fast Females' program. She also started the Student-Athlete Mental Health Initiative on campus this year. 

The Voyageur Award is a prestigious award presented to a graduating student-athlete who has made an outstanding contribution to their sport and to Voyageur Athletics throughout their university career.  This year's recipient comes from the women's rowing team in the form of Emily Jago. Emily grew into one of the premier rowers in the OUA, winning four OUA championship gold medals during her time as a Voyageur and was named the 2015-16 OUA Oarswoman of the Year. This season, Emily brought the Student-Athlete Mental Health Initiative to our campus which has been, and will continue to be, a very important program for our student-athletes.

Team awards were also handed out on Thursday night in the Voyageurs Fieldhouse.  Here are the recipients from the various teams. 

Men's Golf
MVP – Nicholas Quesnel
Pride & Tradition Award – Kraymr Grenke 

Women's Golf
MVP – Mélanie Kappel 

Men's Wrestling
MVP – Ryan Karn
Pride & Tradition – Nathan Stajkowski 

Men's Nordic Skiing
MVP – Ewan Craig
Pride & Tradition – Ben Taylor 

Women's Nordic Skiing
MVP – Laura Williams
Pride & Tradition – Heather Froese 

Women's Cross Country Running
MVP – Marissa Lobert
Pride & Tradition – Jenny Bottomley 

Men's Cross Country Running
MVP – Dylan McKevitt
Pride & Tradition – Jerryd McLeod-Maenpaa 

Women's Indoor Track
MVP – Megan Crocker
Pride & Tradition – Marissa Lobert

Men's Indoor Track
MVP – Michael Petta
Pride & Tradition – Rashid Dia Hantchi 

Women's Soccer
MVP – Dina Mandolesi
Pride & Tradition – Michelle Walsh 

Men's Soccer
MVP – Connor Vande Weghe
Pride & Tradition – Nick Franke 

MVP – Cameron Genge
Pride & Tradition – Brad Gerrow 

Men's Swimming
MVP – Matthew Schouten
Pride & Tradition – Chris Eastick 

Women's Swimming
MVP – Riley Konrad
Pride & Tradition – Simone Waller 

Men's Basketball
MVP – Kadre Gray
Pride & Tradition – Nelson Yengue 

Women's Basketball
MVP – Emily Tinnes & L'Ashante Henry
Pride & Tradition – Mackenzie Robinson 

Women's Rowing
MVP – Emily Jago
Pride & Tradition – Hayley Chase 

Men's Rowing
MVP – Nick Vanderwoude
Pride & Tradition – Curtis Halladay

Women's Curling
MVP – Krysta Burns
Pride & Tradition – Megan Smith 

Men's Curling
MVP – Andrew Vanderburg
Pride & Tradition – Derek Leung 

Men's Hockey
MVP – Brent Pedersen
Ma Culley Award – Bradley MacDonald 

Women's Hockey
MVP – Ellery Veerman
Pride & Tradition – Laura Deller 

With the awards banquet in the books, the 2016-17 Laurentian varsity season officially comes to a close.  Stay tuned to for complete off season news and updates.