Doroodian and Clendinning Named Algoma Student-Athletes of the Year

Doroodian and Clendinning Named Algoma Student-Athletes of the Year

On Saturday evening, Algoma University and the Algoma University Thunderbirds Varsity Athletics Program recognized the hard work, dedication, skill, and academic achievements of their student-athletes at their annual Varsity Athletics Banquet. Held at the Grand Gardens North, this year's banquet celebrated the Thunderbirds' second season in Ontario University Athletics (OUA), and the recent completion of the George Leach Centre's (GLC) renovation. 

At the opening of the awards ceremony, Team Jacobs was inducted into the Thunderbirds Wall of Fame in the Builders category. Skip Brad Jacobs was a member of the Algoma Thunderbirds Men's OCAA Curling team, which brought home the first-ever OCAA medal for Algoma U in 2004. The team earned a gold medal after a perfect 6-0 performance in the round robin. Since then, Team Jacobs, comprised of Jacobs, E. J. Harnden, Ryan Harnden, and Ryan Fry, have gone on to win the Canadian championship, the Brier, and become Olympic champions at the 2014 Winter Olympics in Sochi, Russia. The team is committed to the continued success of student-athletes at Algoma U, and this year created a bursary for aspiring student-athletes.

Student-Athlete of the Year honours went to women's wrestler Natasha Doroodian (Korah Collegiate, Sault Ste. Marie), who was the first Thunderbird to earn a Canadian Interuniversity Sport (CIS) Championships medal, earning silver in Edmonton, Alberta in February of 2015. Doroodian won the honour in the 2013-14 season also. For the men, Sean Clendinning (Twin Lakes Secondary, Orillia) won the top honour. Clendinning is a second-year guard on the men's basketball team who averaged 7.9 points and 1.9 rebounds per game this season. Clendinning is a great leader, role model, and example for the Thunderbirds program. Sam Medaglia, the women's soccer Head Coach, earned the title of Coach of the Year.


The following awards were also handed out:


Dr. Lukenda Thunderbird Service Award

Daniel Scarpino (Cross-Country Running & Men's Soccer)


Academic Achievement Awards (highest academic achievement for their sport)

Natasha Doroodian (Women's Wrestling)

Natasha Doroodian (Women's Soccer)

Samy Mohamed (Men's Basketball)

Taylor McAllister (Women's Basketball)

Taregh Zadmard (Men's Soccer)

Michael Cassagrande (Men's Wrestling)

Laura Thibodeau (Nordic Skiing)

Daniel Scarpino (Cross-Country Running)

Leah Hodgson (Women's Curling)

Andrew Vanderburg (Men's Curling)


Men's Basketball

Adam Benrabah – Rookie of the Year

Brett Zufelt – Best Defensive Player

Andre Barber – Most Improved

Jamal Mucket-Sobers – Coaches Award

Sean Clendinning – MVP


Women's Basketball

Alyssa Dovigi – Most Improved

Taylor McAllister – Coaches Award

Laura Meadows – MVP


Cross-Country Running

Most Improved – Danielle Dupuis

Coaches Award – Brittany Noonan

Anna Stilin – MVP

Daniel Scarpino - MVP


Men's Curling

Andrew Vanderburg – Rookie of the Year

Eric Greaves – Most Improved

Brandon Neill – Coaches Award

Josh Porco - MVP


Women's Curling

Taylor Byron – Most Improved

Shae-Lynn Dupuis – Coaches Award

Leah Hodgson - MVP


Nordic Skiing

Laura Thibodeau – MVP

Coaches Award – Alex Lake


Men's Soccer

Caleb Charlebois – Rookie of the Year

Nick Palazzi – Best Defensive Player

Dan McCulloch – Most Improved

Daniel Scarpino – Coaches Award

Nick Palazzi - MVP


Women's Soccer

Brooklyn Seatter – Rookie of the Year

Lauren Moore – Best Defensive Player

Taylor Bellini – Most Improved

Cheristy Akiwenzie – Coaches Award

Kristina Richer - MVP


Men's Wrestling

Brody Evans – Rookie of the Year

Ammar Bin Dhaban – Coaches Award

Steven Kymes – MVP


Women's Wrestling

Lauren Towell – Coaches Award

Natasha Doroodian - MVP


Thunderbird Award (to graduating student-athletes)

Josh Porco (Men's Curling 2013 – 2015)

Jesse Chiang (Men's Curling 2012 – 2015)

Eric Greaves (Men's Curling 2014 – 2015)

Tyrus Mwangi (Men's Basketball 2012 – 2013, 2014 – 2015)

Taylor McAllister (Women's Basketball 2011 – 2015)

Jamal Mucket-Sobers (Men's Basketball 2010 – 2015)

Chelsie Pine (Women's Soccer 2013 – 2015)