OUA Announces 2015 Water Polo Major Awards and All-Stars

OUA Announces 2015 Water Polo Major Awards and All-Stars

BURLINGTON, Ont. – Ontario University Athletics (OUA) is excited to announce the 2015 OUA water polo major awards and all-stars.

Tara Hristov led the University of Ottawa Gee-Gees to a bronze medal at the OUA Water Polo Championship and has been named the Women's Player of the Year for her efforts. 

In three games for the Gee-Gees, Hristov scored six goals which tied her for the team lead.  In Ottawa's opening game of the tournament, Hristov scored twice, however, it wasn't enough as the Gee-Gees fell to the host Marauders 13-11.  She followed that up with a hat trick on Saturday to help Ottawa sneak past Queen's 13-11.  In the bronze medal game against the crosstown rivals from Carleton, Hristov chipped in a goal as the Gee-Gees defeated the Ravens 7-4.

The University of Toronto Varsity Blues captured their third straight OUA Women's Water Polo Championship thanks to a lineup that features a pair of OUA all-stars as Ali Kraft (Rancho Santa Margarita, California) and rookie Megan MacCormac (Ottawa, Ont.) have been selected to the team.

Kraft, a second-year genome biology student-athlete, scored six goals in two games.  After receiving a quarter-final bye as the top seeded team in the tournament, Kraft scored three goals as the Blues handily defeated the Carleton Ravens 11-4 in the semifinals.  The Rancho Santa Margarita, California native followed that up on Sunday in the championship, finding the back of the net three more times as the Blues defeated the host Marauders 11-6.

Not to be outdone, McCormac had four goals of her own in a pair of games.  Against Carleton, the first-year life sciences student-athlete had two goals in the winning effort.  She followed that up with another two in the championship game.

The host McMaster Marauders turned some heads at the OUA championship thanks in large part to the performances of Jordan Brydges (Hamilton, Ont.) and goalie Betty Spurgeon (Carlyle, Ont.).

Brydges scored eight goals in just two games to help the Marauders capture a silver medal in their home pool.  The second-year nursing student found the back of the four times in the Maruaders opening game of the tournament against Ottawa.  In the championship, Brydges scored a goal in each quarter but it wasn't enough as McMaster fell to the Varsity Blues 11-6.

Spurgeon was also selected to the all-star team after an outstanding tournament.  Third-year classics & history major made some timely saves for the Marauders en route to a silver medal finish.

McMaster Marauders head coach Andy Duffield was named the OUA women's water polo Coach of the Year after he guided the young Marauders to a second place finish at home.

Carleton Ravens standout Natalie Luciano (Ottawa, Ont.) has also been selected to the OUA all-star team after averaging a goal per game at the championship.  Luciano, a fourth-year law student-athlete, had a goal in the Ravens opening 6-3 victory over the Queen's Gaels.  She found the back of the net twice in the Ravens' 11-4 loss to the eventual champion Varsity Blues before being held off the score sheet in a 9-7 loss to Ottawa.

Representing the Queen's Gaels, Lisa Sharp (Ottawa, Ont.) rounds out the women's all-star team.  Sharp, who had a goal in the Gaels 6-3 opening loss to the Ravens, scored a hat trick for Queen's in their 13-11 loss to the Gee-Gees.  Against their foes from Carleton on Sunday, Sharp was one of two Gaels to find the back of the net in a 10-2 loss.

On the men's side, the Carleton Ravens knocked off their rivals from the University of Toronto in exciting fashion thanks in large part to the performance of Rodrigo Rojas (Lima, Peru) who has been named the Most Valuable Player and an OUA all-star.

Rojas opened the tournament with a pair of goals as the Ravens knocked off their crosstown rivals from uOttawa 9-7.  In the finals against Toronto, the fourth-year commerce student-athlete had two goals in regulation and two more in the shootout as the Ravens defeated the defending champion Varsity Blues 8-7.

Joining Rojas on the all-star team is fellow Raven Dusan Boskovic (Belgrade, Serbia).  Like Rojas, Boskovic, a third-year electrical engineering major, had a pair of goals in the Ravens' opening game of the tournament, before finding the back of the net three times in the opening quarter of the championship and once in the shootout.

Rounding out the Ravens' all-star selections is goaltender Yorek Hurrelmann (Ottawa, Ont.)  Hurrelmann turned in a gold medal performance for his hometown Ravens, allowing 7 goals against on average in two tournament games.

Carleton head coach Michel Roy has been named the OUA men's water polo Coach of the Year after leading the Ravens back to the top of the conference for the first time since 2013.

The University of Toronto Varsity Blues finished second at this year's OUA championship with a roster that features a pair of OUA all-stars. 

In their semifinal game against McMaster, Emre Tali (Toronto, Ont) scored three goals, while Sukhmun Hare (North Vancouver, B.C.) added a pair as the Blues thumped the hometown Marauders 17-6.  In the final against Carleton, Tali had another hat trick and Hare found the back of the net once in the 8-7 shootout loss to the Ravens.

Jovan Dabic is the lone University of Ottawa representative on the all-star squad after leading the Gee-Gees to a bronze medal finish.  Dabic was unstoppable, scoring nine of the Gee-Gees 18 goals as they cruised past the Western Mustangs to open the tournament.  He found the back of the net twice more in a slim 9-7 defeat at the hands of the rival Ravens before closing the tournament with four more goals in a 12-10 bronze medal victory over the host Marauders.

The final spot on the all-star team goes to McMaster Marauders standout Colin Colterjohn (Hamilton, Ont.).  Colterjohn opened the tournament with a pair of goals as the hometown Marauders handled the Queen's Gaels 16-3.  The second-year engineering physics & society major had another goal in the Marauders 17-6 loss to the Varsity Blues, before closing out the tournament with a hat trick in McMaster's 12-10 loss to the Gee-Gees.

Player of the Year – Rodrigo Rojas – Carleton Ravens
Coach of the Year – Michel Roy – Carleton Ravens

Player of the Year – Tara Hristov – Ottawa Gee-Gees
Coach of the Year – Andy Duffield – McMaster Marauders

Rodrigo Rojas – Carleton Ravens
Dusan Boskovic – Carleton Ravens
Yorek Hurrelmann – Carleton Ravens
Emre Tali – Toronto Varsity Blues
Sukhmun Hare – Toronto Varsity Blues
Jovan Dabic – Ottawa Gee-Gees
Colin Colterjohn – McMaster Marauders

Ali Kraft – Toronto Varsity Blues
Megan MacCormac – Toronto Varsity Blues
Jordan Brydges – McMaster Marauders
Betty Spurgeon – McMaster Marauders
Tara Hristov – Ottawa Gee-Gees
Natalie Luciano – Carleton Ravens
Lisa Sharp – Queen's Gaels