1520 Queen St. East, Sault Ste. Marie, ON
P6A 2G4
(705) 949-2301 x 4510
(705) 946-7352
1300
1965
Asima Vezina
Mark Kontulainen
Red, White & Grey
Thunderbirds

Name Title Phone Email
Asima Vezina President & Vice-Chancellor (705) 949-2301 Ext. 4117 asima.vezina@algomau.ca
Dave Trudelle Director of Student Experience (705) 949-2301 Ext. 4729 dave.trudelle@algomau.ca
Mark Kontulainen Athletics & Recreation Director, Sports Information (705) 949-2301 Ext. 4510 mark.kontulainen@algomau.ca
Rachel Johnson Varstiy Sport Coordinator (705) 949-2301 Ext. 4512 rachel.johnson@algomau.ca
A.J. Pirillo Coordinator of Operations (705) 949-2301 Ext.4514 aj.pirillo@algomau.ca



Name Sport Phone Email
Thomas Cory Basketball (M) (705) 949-2301 ext. 4516 thomas.cory@algomau.ca
Ryan Vetrie Basketball (W) (705) 949-2301 ext. 4518 ryan.vetrie@algomau.ca
Cameron Wilson Cross Country cameron.wilson@algomau.ca
Juha Kantovaara Curling (M) jkantovaara@olg.ca
Josh Porco Curling (W) josh.porco@algomau.ca
Dave Lomas Nordic Skiing David.Lomas@algomau.ca
Neil Ovey Soccer (M) neil.ovey@algomau.ca
Neil Ovey Soccer (W) neil.ovey@algomau.ca
Trevor Manchester Wrestling (705) 949-2301 ext. 4524 trevor.manchester@algomau.ca



News Items

Algoma

  • Caruso Commits to Algoma Thunderbird Soccer
    June 12, 2019
    Isabella Caruso Commits to Algoma Thunderbird Soccer

    Algoma University Varsity Athletics is pleased to announce that Isabella Caruso has committed to play for the Women's Thunderbird Soccer program for the 2019/ 20 season. Isabella is a defender from the the Soo City United Rep program.
  • Midfielder Mazzuca Commits to Algoma Thunderbird Women's Soccer
    May 08, 2019
    Makayla Mazzuca Joins Algoma Thunderbird Women's Soccer

    Algoma University Varsity Athletics is pleased to announce that Makayla Mazzuca has committed to play for the Women's Thunderbird Soccer program for the 2019/ 20 season. Makayla is a centre midfielder from the the Soo City United Rep program.
  • Fullback Akintomide Commits to Algoma Thunderbird Men's Soccer
    April 24, 2019
    Oluwafemi Akintomide Joins Thunderbird Soccer Program

    Algoma University Varsity Athletics is pleased to announce that Oluwafemi Gabriel Akintomide has committed to play for the Men's Thunderbird Soccer program for the 2019/ 20 season. Jordan who is from Oshawa, Ontario has been a member of the FC Durham Soccer Academy.
  • Unforgettable Experience for Thunderbird Wrestler Riley Tubaro
    April 18, 2019
    Canadian Wrestling Championships 2019

    Algoma Thunderbird wrestler Riley Tubaro traveled to Saskatoon, Saskatchewan to compete in the Canadian Junior/ Senior Wrestling Championships over the March 22 - 24 weekend.
  • Branch Joins Thunderbird Soccer Program
    April 18, 2019
    Jordan Branch - Algoma Thunderbird Men's Soccer

    Algoma University Varsity Athletics is pleased to announce that Jordan Branch has committed to the Men's Thunderbird Soccer program for the 2019/ 20 season. Jordan who is from Oshawa, Ontario has been a member of the FC Durham Soccer Academy.