1520 Queen St. East, Sault Ste. Marie, ON
P6A 2G4
(705) 949-2301 x 4510
(705) 946-7352
1300
1965
Asima Vezina
Mark Kontulainen
Red, White & Grey
Thunderbirds

Name Title Phone Email
Asima Vezina President & Vice-Chancellor (705) 949-2301 Ext. 4117 asima.vezina@algomau.ca
Dave Trudelle Director of Student Experience (705) 949-2301 Ext. 4729 dave.trudelle@algomau.ca
Mark Kontulainen Athletics & Recreation Director, Sports Information (705) 949-2301 Ext. 4510 mark.kontulainen@algomau.ca
Rachel Johnson Varstiy Sport Coordinator (705) 949-2301 Ext. 4512 rachel.johnson@algomau.ca
A.J. Pirillo Coordinator of Operations (705) 949-2301 Ext.4514 aj.pirillo@algomau.ca



Name Sport Phone Email
Thomas Cory Basketball (M) (705) 949-2301 ext. 4516 thomas.cory@algomau.ca
Ryan Vetrie Basketball (W) (705) 949-2301 ext. 4518 ryan.vetrie@algomau.ca
Cameron Wilson Cross Country cameron.wilson@algomau.ca
Juha Kantovaara Curling (M) jkantovaara@olg.ca
Josh Porco Curling (W) josh.porco@algomau.ca
Dave Lomas Nordic Skiing David.Lomas@algomau.ca
Neil Ovey Soccer (M) neil.ovey@algomau.ca
Neil Ovey Soccer (W) neil.ovey@algomau.ca
Trevor Manchester Wrestling (705) 949-2301 ext. 4524 trevor.manchester@algomau.ca



News Items

Algoma

  • Thunderbird Basketball Teams Play the Lancers
    February 14, 2019
    Nick Gehlen Thunderbird Men's Basketball

    Both the Women's and Men's Basketball teams travel to Windsor, Ontario to take on the Windsor Lancers in their last games of the regular season.
  • Thunderbird Nordic Team Travels to Nipissing for OUA Championship
    February 13, 2019
    Marissa Ditorro, Algoma Thunderbird Nordic Skiing

    The Algoma U Nordic Ski Team travels to North Bay, Ontario this weekend to compete in the OUA Nordic Ski Championships being held at Nipissing University. The OUA Championships will be held from February 16th to the 18th.
  • Thunderbird Curling Teams Head to the OUA Championships
    February 13, 2019
    Algoma Thunderbird Women's Curling Team 2018 19

    Both the Thunderbird Women's and Men's Curling teams are traveling to Kitchener-Waterloo, Ontario to compete in the OUA Provincial Curling Championships being held at the K -W Granite Club and hosted by the Laurier Golden Hawks. In the women's pool (B) the Thunderbirds matches up against Queen's, Brock, Laurentian, Guelph, Ryerson, Western, and McMaster. In the men's pool (D), Algoma will play Ryerson, Waterloo, Queen's, Laurentian, McMaster, UOIT and Trent. The championship starts on February 14th and finishes on February 18th.
  • Family Braves Intense Weather and Extreme Distance to Honour Graduating Thunderbird Student-Athlete
    February 14, 2019
    Elijah Butler's Last Regular Season Home Game

    This past weekend the Algoma University Varsity Basketball program honoured their soon-to-be-graduating players with a special courtside ceremony Saturday night. Student-Athletes were encouraged to invite their families and loved ones to participate in the event and share in their accomplishments.
  • Thunderbirds Collison and Tubaro Qualify for Nationals at OUA Wrestling Championships
    February 04, 2019
    Brody Collison Algoma Thunderbird Wrestling

    The Algoma U Thunderbirds entered a total of eight Student-Athletes (five men, three women) in the 2019 edition of the conference championship in Guelph, Ontario.