Tree and Marshall crowned Lakehead Athletes of the Year

Tree and Marshall crowned Lakehead Athletes of the Year

Lakehead Athletics handed out the hardware on Saturday afternoon at their annual awards gala, which was held in the John N. Paterson Faculty of Law Auditorium at PACI.

Runner Kevin Tree repeated as Male Athlete of the Year, while skier Alysson Marshall took home Athlete of the Year honours among Thunderwolf women.

On top of having remarkable performances in the OUA and nationally, Tree and Marshall both represented Canada internationally this season. Tree attended the FISU World University Championships for Cross Country Running in Italy in March. Marshall has been represented Canada as a Nordic skier for several years, and led the women's team to a national title on top of going undefeated in her four races at nationals in Whitehorse. Tree was also given the Argus Award, which goes to the exceptional news-making athlete deemed worthy by Lakehead's student newspaper's sports editor.

Basketball senior Alex Robichaud was chosen as the Hank Akervall award winner, having shown himself to be a big contributor in the community, an exceptional graduating athlete and a well-rounded individual.

Rookie of the year honours bestowed upon Billy Jenkins of the men's hockey team, who made the OUA All-Rookie team and was the OUA West's Most Sportsmanlike Player. Alyssa Genereux is the Female Rookie of the Year, having stepped into the role of starting libero on the volleyball team and being named to the OUA's All-Rookie squad.

A full listing of individual team awards can be found below.

Major Awards

Female Athlete of the Year - Alysson Marshall

Male Athlete of the Year - Kevin Tree

Female Rookie of the Year - Alyssa Genereux

Male Rookie of the Year - Billy Jenkins

Hank Akervall Award - Alex Robichaud

Argus Award - Kevin Tree

Team Awards

Nordic Skiing

Rookie of the Year - Gavin Shields

Men's Most Valuable Skier - Chris Hamilton

Women's Most Valuable Skier - Alysson Marshall

Sportsperson of the Year - Bryana van Leeuwen and Lucas Shewen

Cross Country/Indoor Track

XCR Women's Most Valuable Runner - Marla Keyes

XCR Men's Most Valuable Runner - Kevin Tree

Track - Women's Most Valuable Runner - Kayla Gallo

Track - Men's Most Valuable Runner - Kevin Tree

Erron Williams Memorial Spirit Award - Callie Roelfsema


Women's Rookie of the Year - Dana Campbell

Men's Most Valuable Wrestler - Kevin Leatherdale and Chris Waltner

Women's Most Valuable Wrestler - Kelsey Dayler

Frank Schaller Award - Drew Anderson

Women's Volleyball

Rookie of the Year - Leah Mousseau and Alyssa Genereux

Coaches Award - Olivia Bowman

Corrine Kollman Award - Kailan Robinson

Most Improved Player - Rachel Moore

Most Valuable Player - Vanessa Masters

Women's Basketball

Rookie of the Year - Rachel Webber

Most Improved Player - Bridget O'Reilly

Best Defensive Player - Gillian Lavoie

Amanda Nesbitt Award - Essa Jacobsen

Most Valuable Player - Jerika Baldin and Katelyn Andrea

Men's Hockey

Rookie of the Year - Jake Ringuette

Best Offensive Player - Billy Jenkins

Most Valuable Player - Cody Alcock

Best Work Ethic - Justin McDonald

Best Defensive Player - Devin Green

Men's Basketball

Rookie of the Year - Darnell Curtin and Kache Kopec

Best Defensive Player - Alex Robichaud

Most Improved Player - Henry Tan

Most Valuable Player - Bacarius Dinkins